Skip to main content

These guides help you understand how to best use the version control system.

2 Questions View all

How do I cancel a specific revision?

How do I cancel a specific revision of a guide(or at least hide it from general users)

Answer this question I have this problem too

Is this a good question?

Score 1
Add a comment

1 Answer

Most Helpful Answer

Hi Hesham,

Thank you for reaching out with your question. You can cancel a pending release and remove that release from the approval process by following this help guide. This will ensure that the pending release does not get approved and will be unavailable for use by standard users.

Alternatively, if you have already published a new release of a guide and you want to hide that active release from standard users, I would recommend that you edit the guide, add a flag to the introduction of the guide, and publish a new release. There are two flags that would be most appropriate for you use case, the “Archived Guide” or “In-Progress” flag. The Archived Guide flag should be applied to guides that are being kept for historical purposes and no longer being used by your users. The In-Progress flag is a great way to hide the guide (makes the guide Private) while it undergoes further editing and can be removed prior to publishing the new updated release of the guide.

Please let us know if you have any other questions about this process!

Flags Image

Guide

How to Add Flags to a Guide

Difficulty:

Moderate

Approvals Image

Guide

How to Cancel a Pending Release

Difficulty:

Moderate

Was this answer helpful?

Score 1

Comments:

Thanks Dan,

So how do I delete that old revision completely after the new revision is published without deleting the guide

by

Hi @hmakhlouf, the old revision cannot be deleted. It will remain associated with the guide, but not accessible to your site's standard users. The version needs to be retained for historical purposes and can be quite useful in the event of an audit.

Is there a specific reason you would want to delete the old revision of the guide?

by

Dan, I have a guide that was published but I forgot the add the approvals. I attempted to add approvals and publish again but realized that I will need to go one revision up just for that which adds unneeded revision and shouldn't be disclosed to the public users.. so thought their might be a way to hide the one that doesn't have any approvals from the public users completely.

by

@hmakhlouf Once you publish and receive approval for the new release of your guide that has the approval process added, the old release (without an approval process) will no longer be accessible to your users. They will only be able to access the approved release of the guide. Assigning the approval process to the guide does require you to move one revision up and use a new release version title, but this will hide the previous release once the new release is approved.

by

Add a comment

Add your answer

Hesham Makhlouf will be eternally grateful.
TRUSTe